Learning Chinese

Albert Tatlock

I started learning Chinese this year, but am not too happy with the book/CD I've got. There is not too much on the BBC website either.

Any suggestions for decent online training, books, tapes, or best way ahead etc. would be appreciated. Ideally I want to learn 'on the hoof' i.e. when I'm travelling a lot - rather than go on specific courses.

I studied with the Integrated Chinese Series by C&T Asian Languages Series by Daozhong Yao (Editor), Ted Yao (Editor)

Annoyingly I can only find Level 1 Part 2 on Amazon UK so here's a link to Level 1 Part 1 on Amazon US!

A couple of points. Be very careful about characters: China and Singapore use simplified characters, Hong Kong, Taiwan and most overseas chinese use Traditional Characters.

There is a significant difference between the two.

I'm China-centric and so prefer simplified, but some people argue that you need to learn the traditional ones to "appreciate" the meaning of the characters. I pretty much disagree, both sets have arbitary rules, which mean you cannot learn by rote, some rules hold up more with Traditional ones, some with simplified.

Simplified are easier to write and read. You can usually undersatand simplified if you learn traditional and vice verse, but sometimes they'll stump you!

For less academic books Colloquial Chinese is excellent, but has few characters.

While Don Rimmington's Basic Chinese and Intermediate Chinese Work book and Grammars are brilliant for concise explanations of how the language works. They have good exercises, but they don't have particularly good vocabularies.

For fun I'd very much recommend the Fun with Chinese Characters series by Tan Huay Peng. They are cartoons explaining the eteology of the most common characters. I've got all 4 books from the series and browse them still!

I studied with a language lab, so didn't have any trouble with listening tapes, I'm not sure what's best. The Colloquial Chinese CD is probably as good as any