Coronavirus topics renamed and some locked. No new topics. ×
Manx Forums, Live Chat, Blogs & Classifieds for the Isle of Man
Sign in to follow this  
alibaba

Advice about the loss/theft of a smart phone

So a phone has been lost and I've got some questions about what to do in these kind of situations. Any answers gratefully received. I'm fairly new to the whole smart phone and android world, as is the owner of the phone and don't really know how they work.

Say someone 'finds' a phone and decides they want to keep it. They take the sim card out and stick their own in. What does the phone think of this? It's got all these apps and accounts on it that you've been using for months, facebook and snapchat and things. Do these stay on the phone, and continue to work? Logged in to the same accounts? Or would it block people?

Is it easy for someone to perform a full reset on your smart phone clearing all your stuff and making it theirs?

Is locking the sim the right or wrong thing to do? I think that until you fully decide it has gone forever you shouldn't lock it, and you should keep trying to phone it in the hope that whoever has it hasn't got round to charging it yet and when they do they'll try to return it, but everyone else is advising get it locked. I think if the phone had been lost in Spain I'd say lock it straight away but over here its not such an issue as there is plenty of space in the contract for people to make a few calls on it.

Do Sure (or MT) note down the IMEI number when they sell you a phone on contract, in case you try to bump them and sell the phone (or because you didn't bother to write it down anywhere yourself?)

The Android Device manager thing that you can log into on your laptop obviously needs your phone to be on to find it, but can it remotely turn the location thing on? The phone in question pretty much always has its mobile data on, but very rarely its location/gps thingy. Has anyone ever used it to find their phone and did it work?