I have recently passed my motorcycle test. I have been a car driver for 40+ years. I now have to display R plates on the motorcycle for 1yr, restricting me to max 50mph.

Next month I am visiting the UK, and will be driving on Motorways. Am I still restricted to 50mph, and do I still need the R Plates whilst driving there?

I have obviously Googled the question, but seem to be receiving conflicting advice.

Any advice welcome.

Edited by Rab
Spelling
6 minutes ago, Rab said:

I have recently passed my motorcycle test. I have been a car driver for 40+ years. I now have to display R plates on the motorcycle for 1yr, restricting me to max 50mph.

Next month I am visiting the UK, and will be driving on Motorways. Am I still restricted to 50mph, and do I still need the R Plates whilst driving there?

I have obviously Googled the question, but seem to be receiving conflicting advice.

Any advice welcome.

Don't waste your time asking on "social" media.

Ask the police.

( unless Flinty sees your post.)

Even PM him. He's a decent bloke and will put you right.

Edited by dilligaf
19 minutes ago, dilligaf said:

Ask the police.

Why, what could possibly go wrong asking the “experts” on here...

• Haha 2
1 minute ago, Neil Down said:
22 minutes ago, dilligaf said:

Ask the police.

Why, what could possibly go wrong asking the “experts” on here...

"manxy" probably has the answer.

( hide in the hedge, they are out to get you )

Edited by dilligaf
2 minutes ago, dilligaf said:

"manxy" probably has the answer.

( hide in the hedge, they are out to get you )

Or “down my manor Barry”...

• Haha 1

Requirements, such as driving age, licence categories, P plates, depend on two things when you are in a “foreign” country to the one that issued your licence.

1. Documentation issued at home limits driving categories, driving age, to the extent  that the the foreign requirements aren’t different.