The Isle of Man is missing..........(give us your opinion)

jackwhite

Over the last two weeks, had lots of conversations with people, mostly who've come over for TT, but also some locals.

There was a variety of things they felt were missing from the Isle of Man. I'm not talking competent politicians or any such other flying pigs¬†ūüėČ. No in all seriousness, it was more about physical things from a hypothetic point of view, rather than just complaining about¬†

We obviously have a diverse demographic on here. I think that's evident both from opinions in general and what they seem to be for and against.

Getting to the point, what are we missing on the Isle of Man that would improve your quality of life? 

For me, it's a higher quality hospitality scene. I say that not just because I work in the trade, but because I genuinely enjoy going to nice places. I've made no secret of the fact I'm a fan of having a drink at Fynoderee. I'd add food at Bonzai, Enzos and The Alpine (and their new nights with beer too!) along with the odd beer at some independent places.. Outside of that there are very few places I'd happily spend money in. 

We have lots of great areas on the Isle of Man for outdoor activities so I don't think we're short for that. I do think though we could be doing with some more 'destinations' or just general things to do for activities. 

Anything you feel would improve the quality of life for you?

• Thanks 1

Just now, Declan said:

A culture of gig-going.

Fantastic shout. 

Was thinking about this the other day. 

Is there anything the hospitality could do to help this do you think? If so, thoughts on what?

12 minutes ago, Declan said:

Don't ask me, I only started going to gigs in the 80's.

Me too. That's why I asked. There used to be gigs on all over the place until about 2005 (approx). 

• Like 1

2 hours ago, jackwhite said:

Over the last two weeks, had lots of conversations with people, mostly who've come over for TT, but also some locals.