Apple vs FBI/CIA

cheeky boy

It's all big PR stunt. Apple want us to think they're the hottest company for protecting our data. At the same time, what Apple are refusing is to allow a backdoor to all customers' data. It isn't about this one terrorist. The Government will already have the data they want, Apple will install a backdoor (as they and other companies already do) to allow access despite all the hot air about refusing to do it.

I'm no techie, but there are hundreds of sites online explaining how to unlock an iPhone

can someone explain why the US security agencies cannot open the phone of the Californian shootings bloke ?

Those sites are about how to unlock a phone in the sense of making it network free - eg you have a Vodafone iPhone and you want to put a Sure SIM in it. That's different from accessing the contents of a specific phone.

In the past 24 hours there has been an interesting update to this story:

The Apple ID passcode linked to the iPhone belonging to one of the San Bernardino terrorists was changed less than 24 hours after the government took possession of the device, senior Apple executives said Friday. If that hadn’t happened, Apple said, a backup of the information the government was seeking may have been accessible

The U.S. Government do what they like so legislation will be changed soon

But to what end? Encryption will remain freely and legally available. Terrorists will simply adopt other methods.

There is also a clear conflict here between home and foreign policy. Internationally encryption and strong security is promoted by the State Dept as a tool of resistance to tyranny. Meanwhile:

Former NSA Chief sides with Apple - "Jim Comey is wrong" (Fortune)

Google and WhatsApp back Apple in FBI encryption fight (Financial Times)

The U.S. Government do what they like so legislation will be changed soon

But to what end? Encryption will remain freely and legally available. Terrorists will simply adopt other methods.