Candidate Announced For Castletown

lard

Former Manchester police inspector Roy Redmayne has announced that he will stand for Castletown. (Too early for any links yet, but heard on Manx Radio midday).

To have a contest can only be good for Castletown and the Isle of Man. The sitting member is Speaker of the House of Keys Tony Brown. It is thought he might be nominated for Chief Minister, if he wins. Tony Brown has been MHK for Castletown since 1981 and has faced 5 elections (three contested and two unopposed).

Well done Roy Redmayne for putting his name forward. His experiences with the Isle of Man Government over the past couple of years will be invaluable.

• Replies 68
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Brilliant news! As a former police inspector I'd expect him to have some credibility.

He'll have to work hard to overcome the encumbant advantage Mr Speaker has, but I wish him well.

At least I now have two options ... spoiling my ballot paper or voting for Mr Redmayne. Previously I thought I'd have to spoil my ballot in protest. Its been my opinion for quite a time that change is needed in Castletown.

I am happy to see all seats contested, but why declare so late in the day. If anyone is serious (or wants to be taken seriously) about standing for MHK surely they have to declare early and give themselves time to do the necessary graft or I am missing something?

Absolutely brilliant. This should smoke Brown out of his lair.

Redmayne has my vote already.

:)

But does anyone know him or his policies? Much as I disagree with Tony Brown's views on a number of subjects, and am happy that there will be a contest in Castletown, all I know about Roy Redmayne is his personal battle against his treatment by the Manx Police in respect of a single event.

Is this really enough to blindly vote for him and potentially give him the power to govern the Island?