Fund and share dealing accounts for Isle of Man residents

Paul1

Hi, can anyone recommend an online fund and share dealing account that is available to Isle of Man residents using Isle of Man bank accounts?

I already have holdings with Hargreaves lansdown, up until now no problems. However, since recently trying to open a junior account for my son, I seem to have 'alerted them to the fact I am an Isle of Man resident' to quote and that they can no longer allow me to add or withdraw further money, although I can still trade with what's already in the account. This basically renders the account useless to me as I need to keep adding money if it's going to amount to anything worthwhile, and to some extent be able to withdraw when necessary, so I will need to swich provider.

They say this is because I am an Isle of Man resident, and the iom is not considered part of the European economic area, and the FCA who regulate them don't allow this. After a lots of searching it seems every fund and share dealing account provider is regulated by the FCA. I have managed to open an account with IG who don't seem to have a problem with this, but they don't offer funds, which I would prefer to be an option if possible.

I would be grateful for any advice on this matter,

Thanks, Paul

• Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply
57 minutes ago, Paul1 said:

Hi, can anyone recommend an online fund and share dealing account that is available to Isle of Man residents using Isle of Man bank accounts?