Open University Fees For Iom Residents Set To Soar

Galen

Given the restricted education opportunities on the IOM (despite the rhetoric !) I have been a part time student with the Open University (OU) for some time. The learning material is generally very good and the qualifications acknowledged by employers as being some of the best. Low and behold the OU has now written to every IOM OU student to tell them that as the IOM is not part of the UK the fees are going to be hiked up later this year. This is because the OU gets substantial grant income from the UK Government, derived from contributions of UK taxpayers. As IOM residents do not pay UK taxes, (I thought we had reciprocal agreements on various financial fronts) the fees are no longer to be subsidised as they are for the UK students.

Depending on the course someone is studying this could mean fees going up several hundred pounds per course module. Given that there are quite a number of OU students on the IOM, many of whom do jobs during the day and study at night and at weekends to try and improve their education and therefore get better job opportunities this seems grossly unfair - and even more so if tax relief on such courses is also removed by our local friendly Income Tax chums!

IOM Education Dept charging UK students higher fees if they study here (very few of these I would guess) as they do not pay Manx Taxes will not work as it will make the IOM even more expensive. So it's a proverbial poke in the eye with an educational stick!

Many of our MHK's probably will not be interested in the slighest in this topic since the last time I guess they were in a classroom or did any studying was as frequent attendees of remedial classes - but for many residents who do want to improve themselves and their families, higher fees will result in many packing in educating themselves - sad not only for them, but for the Island as a whole.